Finding God, even now, in our family…

My heart breaks as I update this blog to say that Tim Kretzmann, my dear husband for 34 years, and beloved father of our 3 grown children, died of cancer on August 6th of this year.

So much that I have written here about spiritualizing family life…and it all remains true…But what was largely left unsaid was the beauty of having such a loving, calm, deeply devoted presence in our home. Every family has their own journey…I was blessed to have Tim in my life to help me in this journey. Indeed, I believe it was an important sacred task in his lifetime to raise the 3 children in God.

Sometimes I do feel his loving, saintly blessings guiding me… Will this continue to be so? I do deeply hope so…

Our married daughter is due to give birth in a few weeks…so the cycle continues.  Our hearts will embrace this little one and healing will come. Yet there will always be the bittersweet feeling wishing that Tim could be here to share in it all. And yet some things just were not destined to be…and so we must find peace in God’s bigger picture even if we don’t fully understand it now.  Sometimes I think I understand parts of it…but then my heart breaks anyway, so my journey now is to find peace, anyway, joy, anyway, and love, anyway…

If any part of our journey written in the pages can help you in your own, then I am grateful to have served you in this way. Love one another… Love inspires, and uplifts, and Love lives on…

Blessings,

Mary Kretzmann

Scroll down to download and print

Tribute to Tim Kretzmann, made by our youngest son, David Timothy, age 19:

Interview with Tim in 2010

One Response to “Finding God, even now, in our family…”

  1. Manoo J. Says:

    Dear Mary, such a Divine experience. This brought tears in my eyes….tears of mixed feelings. I know (through people’s stories) that Tim was a wonderful soul…Saintly! I never met him in-person but I feel I already know him. The way he left his body was truly wonderful & its a great learning for all of us.. Isnt it a great way to say our final goodbye, until we meet again………..!!!

    Joy!


Leave a comment